SHREVEPORT – Five LSU Shreveport faculty members were recognized for their contributions Monday at the Outstanding Faculty Awards held on the third floor of the Noel Memorial Library.

Recipients for the outstanding teaching awards included Dr. Tauhidal Alam, Dr. Cassandra Williams and Rogers Martin.

Kaci Wilson took home the research and creativity honor while Dr. Dionne Williams won the service to the university, community and profession award.

The Faculty Research and Development Committee selected the winners from a pool of nominees.

Alam, an assistant professor in computer science, has created new courses in sought-after areas, particularly in cloud computing. He obtained certifications in Amazon Web Services Cloud Practitioner and Amazon Web Services Solutions Architect Associate and led efforts as an Amazon Web Services Academy Educator to accomplish this task. This avenue allows students access to cutting-edge, hands-on classroom material that propels them straight into the workforce upon graduation.

Cassandra Williams, assistant professor of special education, helped students to a 100 percent pass rate on the special education core content Praxis exam, dramatically improving special education instruction. Williams is known for her rapport-building skills, with one nominator saying she is “one of the most passionate instructors I’ve had the privilege of knowing.” Another nominator said Williams’ “superpower” is the way in which she cultivates relationships with every student.

Martin, who is in his 30th year as an instructor in the LSUS Math department, has been a rock-steady force in courses like Algebra, Finite Mathematics and Applied Business Calculus. Martin is a well-known representative of the department and connects with students.

Walk around the library, and one will probably encounter Wilson’s research-based exhibits. One nominator said Wilson’s exhibits “demonstrate an incredible aptitude for connecting students with research.” Wilson, a STEM librarian, also participates in conventional research.

Dr. Dionne Williams has taken charge of the accreditation process for the education department on top of being an active committee member at the department, college and university levels. Williams, an assistant professor and assessment coordinator, has been the driving factor in identifying shortcomings and finding solutions to address assessment needs as the department is going through the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation process.

All recipients will receive a $6,000 stipend.

Committee members who selected the winners include chairman Binshan Lin (Business), Beverly Burden (Mathematics & Sciences), Allen Garcie (Faculty Senate President), Gary Joiner (Humanities and Social Sciences), Kevin Krug (Human Sciences), Sarah Mazur (Library), Jason Mixon (Education) and Tim Shaughnessy (Business).