SHREVEPORT – Sixteen different student-athletes, teams and administrators picked up hardware Tuesday night at the LSUS Pilot Choice Awards, which celebrate the top achievements in LSUS Athletics.

Men’s basketball forward Jalen Brooks added to his already impressive collection of honors as the Men’s Athlete of the Year. The Shreveport native impressed in his only season at LSUS, averaging 22.5 points and 11.2 rebounds per game en route to NAIA First-Team All-American honors. The Louisiana Small College Player of the Year (Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches) led the Pilots to a 26-8 overall record and the Sweet 16 of the NAIA National Tournament.

Women’s soccer forward Chelsea Brown took the home the Female Athlete of the Year honor for a performance that included breaking four LSUS records. The Red River Athletics Conference honorable mention selection scored eight goals and added four assists while landing 30 of her 49 shots on frame for an LSUS bunch that finished 9-5-3 overall.

The baseball squad garnered Team of the Year honors for its 53-8 record and semifinal appearance in the 2022 NAIA World Series. The Pilots won RRAC regular season and tournament titles, the latter of which required a rally through the loser’s bracket to beat Loyola twice in the championship series. Because the baseball season extends into the summer, baseball’s previous season is considered for the Pilot Choice Awards.

The Moment of the Year belongs to the men’s soccer team, which captured the program’s first ever double conference championship (regular season and tournament titles). The Pilots went unscathed through RRAC play (9-0-2) and won their first-ever tournament title by topping Louisiana Christian in the final to advance to the NAIA National Tournament.

Student-athletes are lauded for putting in the extra effort in the offseason, which results in breakthrough campaigns the following year.

Men’s soccer defender Jake Strachan and women’s soccer forward Ameris Taylor were selected as the Breakthrough Athletes of the Year.

Strachan, the RRAC Defensive Player of the Year, was an offensive and defensive threat from the back, scoring four goals while being part of a defense that allowed less than one goal per match.

Taylor worked herself into the starting rotation and contributed six goals (three game winners) on just 22 shots and one assist.

Every freshman’s or transfer’s goal is to make an impact in their first season, and baseball pitcher Gage Bihm and women’s basketball forward Derrica Gilbert captured Newcomer of the Year honors.

Bihm struck out 48 in 30 innings while posting a 2-1 record with one save and a 1.48 ERA as a reliever.


Gilbert, an RRAC Second Team selection, led the Pilots with 40 3-pointers and was second on the team in scoring with 8.1 points per game.

Going beyond just one productive season, career achievement awards recognize a student-athlete’s production and value over a span of time.

Senior women’s soccer midfielder Aimee Dilworth capped an impressive career with a team-high six assists and finished her career with nine assists and three goals.

Senior baseball outfielder Ryan Major has put an exclamation mark on his career by leading the Pilots with a .494 batting average, 50 runs and 43 RBIs with an astonishing 21 doubles, five triples and a nation-best 43 stolen bases. Major’s name will be scattered across the LSUS record book as he’s compiled a career .448 batting average, 193 hits, 138 runs and 124 RBIs.

LSUS strives to produce well-rounded student-athletes who represent the university on the field, in the classroom and campus and community service.

Tennis player and women’s soccer goalkeeper Carlota Alcalde and baseball catcher Diego Aragon received the Faculty Athletic Representative Character awards as chosen by FAR Dr. Terry Harris.

The men’s basketball team spends numerous hours making Shreveport-Bossier a better place to live, and they received the Pilot Service Award. The men’s team is involved in activities like the Champions of Character game, setting up the pumpkin patch at Provenance and collecting and delivering toys for LSU Oschner at Christmas.

There are also unsung heroes that might not be as recognizable on a court or field.

Men’s soccer defender James Averies and women’s basketball guard Tiarra Tillison won the Unsung Hero awards, giving back to the university outside of competition while displaying excellent character in all facets of college life.

The administration recognized Chancellor Larry Clark as Pilot of the Year, honoring his generous and consistent support of athletics throughout his tenure.


LSUS Pilot Choice Awards

FAR Character Award

Female Winner- Carlota Alcalde

Male Winner- Diego Aragon

Pilot of the Year- Chancellor Larry Clark

Pilot Service Award- Men's Basketball

Breakthrough Athlete

Female Winner- Ameris Taylor

Male Winner- Jake Strachan

Unsung Hero

Female Winner- Tiarra Tillison

Male Winner- James Averies

Newcomer of the Year

Female Winner- Derrica Gilbert

Male Winner- Gage Bihm

Moment of the Year- Men's Soccer's First Ever Double Championship in Program History

Career Achievement

Female Winner- Aimee Dilworth

Male Winner- Ryan Major 

Team of the Year- Baseball

Athlete of the Year

Female Winner- Chelsea Brown

Male Winner- Jalen Brooks