Print / Share  
 
 

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Safe Space

Safe Space is a training program that educates individuals who will affirm & support all people, regardless of sexual orientation and/or gender identity or expression. The training is open to all faculty and staff on campus. Topics covered include basic LGBTQ terminology & ways to make your language more inclusive,ways to address confusion & misconceptions, identify biases, increase awareness, discuss the coming out process, and go over some ways that can be a better ally to LGBTQ students on campus. Participants are encouraged to be open about their own perceptions, awareness & knowledge, and experiences regarding LGBTQ topics. Click here to view a video with an in depth explanation of the training.

 

                                      

   

Safe Space Participants

 

Beverly Burden

Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Beverly.Burden@lsus.edu

Sam Cannon

Assistant Professor, Arts and Sciences

Samuel.Cannon@lsus.edu

Chelsey Chance

 

Director, Financial Aid

Chelsey.Chance@lsus.edu

Matthew Culpepper

Enrollment Services Coordinator, Admissions

Matthew.Culpepper@lsus.edu

Blake Dunnavent

Associate Professor, History

Blake.Dunnavent@lsus.edu

 

Tracy Elbert

Events Coordinator, Events Management

Tracy.Elbert@lsus.edu

Laura Flett

 

Instructor, Education

Laura.Flett@lsus.edu

Jennie Flynn-McKevitt

 

Director, Career Services

Jennifer.Flynn-McKevitt@lsus.edu

Victoria Hrody

 

Associate Professor, Arts & Media

Victoria.Hrody@lsus.edu

Amanda Lewis

Interim Director, Sponsored Research

Amanda.Lewis@lsus.edu

Marshae McNeal

Assistant Professor, Kinesiology/Health Science

Marshae.McNeal@lsus.edu

Meredith Nelson

Director & Associate Professor, Masters in Counseling Program

Meredith.Nelson@lsus.edu

Grace Nickels

Director, Student Advocacy & Accountability

Title IX Coordinator

Grace.Nickels@lsus.edu

Angie Pellerin

Director, Counseling Services

 

Angie.Pellerin@lsus.edu

Evan Reibsome

Assistant Professor, English and Foreign Languages

Evan.Reibsome@lsus.edu

Mary Lois White

Associate Professor, Economics and Finance

Mary.White@lsus.edu

Timothy Winter

Professor & Chair, Kinesiology & Health Science

Timothy.Winter@lsus.edu

Riley Young

Instructor, Criminal Justice, History, & Social Sciences

Riley.Young@lsus.edu

William Yu

Assistant Professor, Chemistry/Physics

William.Yu@lsus.edu

     

 

For more information including upcoming training dates and questions, contact Austin Shaw, Outreach Coordinator at Austin.Shaw@lsus.edu or 318-795-2486.

 

   

 

 

 

           

 

 
Apply Visit Request Information