Print / Share  

Department of Computer Science

Mission & Overview

CS Department Mission Statement
The mission of the Computer Science Department at LSUS is to produce graduates who possess the capacity to be leaders of technology and change, who will contribute to technological and economic development of the state, region and beyond, and who have the skills and education to be effective and productive citizens.

CS Department Overview 
The Computer Science Department offers a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science. There are four concentrations: Software Development (ABET accredited), Cyber Security and Networking, Information Systems, and Digital Interactive Design. The department also offers a Master of Science in Computer Systems Technology degree with concentrations in Computer Science, Cyber Security and Networking, Biomedical Informatics and Business Administration. The department also offers a Minor in Computer Science.

A degree in computer science prepares students for a wide variety of job opportunities in any industry that utilizes technology throughout the region and beyond. This is virtually any industry. These jobs can be found in both the government and private sectors.

The Department has both general purpose computer labs, special use labs and research labs as well as technology enabled classrooms. In the research labs, both undergraduate and graduate students have the opportunity to work on a variety of ongoing research projects. The department also sponsors student clubs where students with common interests can meet.

Apply Visit Request Information