Print / Share  

Education & Social Science Graduates

John Flournoy Clifton

John Clifton

What I do now: I am currently employed with Safeco Insurance.


My work/job consists of: Working with water mitigation companies that provide emergency services for my customers.


Path to my current career position (how I got from the past to the present): I started my career in 1988 after a friend introduced me to the insurance industry.


How I got to LSUS (or why I chose LSUS): LSUS proved to be an intimate university both in class size and accessibility. Abundant activities provided social opportunities and lasting friendships.


Fond memories of LSUS: I earned my water safety instructor certification at LSUS. I served as lifeguard & swim instructor to The Special Olympics and community outreach programs. I enjoyed my educational experience. Courses that stand out include Experimental Psychology, PSYC 425, School Law, Anthropology and Physical Education.


LSUS faculty who helped me: Dr. George Kemp, Larry Rambin & Dr. Michael Brendler. “Guidance, Opportunity & Advice”


How LSUS helped me succeed: LSUS provided the opportunity to achieve my Bachelor of Science which opened career opportunities.


Advice to college-bound students:

· Shadow people in the field you are considering.

· Once you identify an industry find a mentor.

· Serve as an intern with potential employers.


Advice to someone who wants to enter my field:

· Develop an understanding of the insurance industry and opportunities.

· Place yourself in a position to continue your education throughout your career.

· Align yourself with a professional organization.


Tips on choosing a major or career: Use your high school experiences to obtain a deep and broad education. Be involved in some activities but not all activities. Take challenging classes, perhaps classes that earn college credit. Talk with your school counselor. Visit the universities. Network!


My toughest professional challenge: Overcoming professional setbacks.


My toughest personal challenge: Achieving and maintaining the proper balance with my personal life, my career and education interests.


Successes (honors, awards, etc.) in my life: This one is fun and ongoing.

· Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriter - CPCU

· Associate in Claims - AIC

· Associate in Insurance Services - AIS

· Associate in General Insurance - AINS

· IICRC Certification in Water Damage Restoration and Applied Structural Drying

· HAAG Certified Residential Roof Inspector

· Multiple awards and recognition including top 10% in 2013


I’ve learned this from life:

· Do not discount the value of a person, starting with you.

· Never pass up the opportunity to keep your mouth shut.

· Listen. And when you think it is your turn to speak, ask a question and consider listening a little longer.


What I’d be doing if I had all the time in the world: Spend more time with my family and give whatever is left to someone who needs it.


Apply Visit Request Information