Print / Share  

About Us

Loyalty Award

The Alumni Association Loyalty Award was created in 2011 to honor LSUS faculty and staff who have served for at least 10 years. Recipients must have played a strategic role in the advancement of LSUS, and must have given selflessly to the university. They must also have developed unique programs, projects, events or the like during their tenures.

Dr. William Jenkins, Carol Ann Marsala, Chad McDowell and Vincent MarsalaL to R Dr. William Jenkins, Interium President LSU System; Carol Ann Marsala; Chad McDowell; and Dr. Vince Marsala at the Pilots Golf Classic.

2012 Loyalty Awards
Chancellor Vincent J. Marsala, who retired in May 2012 after 45 years of service to LSUS, received the first Loyalty Award of 2012. He was the only remaining original faculty member at LSU Shreveport. Dr. Marsala came to LSUS as an assistant professor in 1967 when the university was a two-year institution. He received his Bachelor's degree from Northeast Louisiana University and his Master's degree in Government and Ph.D in Latin American Studies from LSU A&M. At LSUS, he taught Louisiana History, Louisiana Government, and Latin American History. His service on local, regional and state boards, committees, consortiums and cabinets, including 8 years as Caddo Parish Commissioner, spans four decades. In the words of Dr. William Jenkins, former president and current interim president of the LSU System, "He has enjoyed an extraordinary career at LSU Shreveport. He served with dedication, distinction, and determination, notwithstanding the tremendous challenges that he faced during his term of office."

The Alumni Association also honored Jackie Reed, assistant to the chancellor, for 37 years of service. Mrs. Reed began her employment in August of 1975 as a steno clerk in the Department of Mathematics, where she served for nine years. She then moved to the position of secretary in the library for several years. In 1986, she began a 26-year tenure in the Chancellor's Office as administrative secretary, executive secretary and finally assistant to the chancellor. She served under the direction of three chancellors, Dr. Grady Bogue, Dr. John Darling and Dr. Vincent Marsala.

The final Loyalty Award for 2012 was presented to Carol Ann Marsala, wife of Dr. Vincent Marsala. She was honored as the retiring "First Lady of LSUS." Marsala is a graduate of Northeast Louisiana University and taught school for 20 years, primarily 8th grade Louisiana History at Youree Drive Middle School. She has stood alongside Dr. Marsala at countless events, on campus, in the Shreveport-Bossier community, and at state and regional functions. She serves on the boards of the Red Cross and The Gingerbread House and is a member of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Catholic Church.

Inaugural 2011 Loyalty Award
The first Loyalty Award was presented to Vice Chancellor for University Development, Glenda C. Erwin, for service to LSUS from 1998 to 2011. Mrs. Erwin played a strategic role in the growth of the LSUS Foundation and its resources during her leadership of the organization from 2004-2011. She has served as the Chair of the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities, and has been a tireless advocate for Red River Radio and the Dual Enrollment Program at LSUS. She created the first Alumni Association Pilots Golf Classic in 1999 and turned a student's idea into RiverBend Revue the following fall. Both of these successful events enjoy a 15-year history.