Print / Share  

About Us

Distinguished Alumni Award


The Distinguished Alumni Award is presented to alumni who are leaders in the community, region or nation, and who have given generously of their time, talents or resources to LSUS. The award was instituted in 1985. The following criteria, adopted in 2004, are used to determine the recipients of the award:

  • The recipient must be an LSUS graduate with at least a Bachelor's Degree.
  • The recipient must have made a significant contribution to the University which may or may not have been monetary.
  • The recipient must be a leader in our community, region or nation.
  • The recipient must be using his or her LSUS degree in a significant manner. 

Jim Fritze

2015     Caddo Sheriff Stephen W. Prator
The LSUS Alumni Association is pleased to honor Sheriff Prator for his service to LSUS, Caddo Parish and the State of Louisiana.

Steve attended LSU in Baton Rouge for three years, then came home to Shreveport, joined the Police Department, and graduated from LSUS in 1975 with a Bachelor of General Studies. He is also a graduate of the FBI National Executive Institute in Quantico, Virginia.

His pathway in law enforcement includes Shreveport Police Department patrol officer, detective, narcotics agent, and Chief of Police. He was appointed Chief of Police in 1990 by former Mayor Hazel Beard, who is also an LSUS graduate and 2007 recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award.

In 1999, Steve was elected to the first of currently four terms as Caddo Parish Sheriff. In this role, he is the Chief Law Enforcement Officer of Caddo Parish and the Ex-Officio Tax Collector.

During his distinguished career, Steve established bicycle patrols, neighborhood watch teams, the Caddo Shreveport Narcotics Task Force, and a drug interdiction unit. He also developed a work-release program for inmates at the Caddo Correctional Center. He was instrumental in creating "Safety Town" which teaches children how to avoid danger and how to protect themselves. He launched a program to train children between 8 and 12 years of age in gun safety. The course is taught as a gun safety camp sponsored by the Sheriff's Department.

On July 1, 2014, Steve accepted the additional role of Director of the Caddo Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness which is a State agency.

He is a member of the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame for Law Enforcement; the Academic Hall of Fame of Northwood High School; and the LSUS Foundation Board.

He has received the Shreveport Bar Association Liberty Bell Award for outstanding leadership and community service; the Juvenile Justice "Shining Star" Award; and the Whitney M. Young, Jr., Service Award.

            Other Recent Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2014      James N. (Jim) Fritze - BGS 1995 (August 8, 1925 - May 22, 2016)

2013      Peggy Johnson Cloud - BA Secondary Education 1975

2012      Marcia C. Calhoun - BGS 2000

2011      James H. Ballengee - BS Accounting 1987

2010      Anne Dier Wilson and Dr. Woody Wilson (October 28, 1923 - January 28, 2014) - Joint MLA degrees 1987

2009      John M. Good, Jr. - BS 1976

2008      Edie Broyles Williams - BGS 1988

2007      Hazel Fain Beard - BGS 1985

Former Distinguished Alumni 

1985      T.C. Tisdon - AGS 1976
1988      Robert Maxwell Bunch, Ph.D. - BS 1975
1997      Preston R. Friedley, Jr. - BA 1976
1998      Zina Schiff Eisenberg - MLA 1991
2000      Margaret W. Kinsey, Ph.D. (Hon.) - AGS 1984
2001      Michael H. Woods - BGS 1975
2002      Phillip A. Rozeman, M.D. - BS 1977
2003      1st Lt. Brandon R. Friedman - BA 2000
2004      T. Brian Bond - BGS 1982
2006      S. Reed Dickens - BA 2000