Print / Share  


LSUS Alumni Association Announces 2018 Award Winners

June 11, 2018



SHREVEPORT, LA-The 2018 LSUS Alumni Association Award winners were recently honored at the Association’s Annual Awards Dinner in the LSUS University Center Ballroom. Alumni and their guests enjoyed appetizers and dinner by Bistro To Go, a PICENVY photo booth, numerous door prizes and a silent auction. The event had an excellent turnout, with Alumni attendance increasing 31% over 2017.

Awards were presented by the 2018 Alumni Board Awards Committee, which included The Honorable Frances Pitman, Chair; Randall Brown; Gayle Flowers, Ed.D.; Ken Betzing, PA-C; and ex-officio assistant, Jon Cheek, M.D.

Chancellor Larry Clark presented the keynote address, “Anticipate The Future,” and Ms. Pearl Merry, Miss LSUS 2017-18, thanked the Alumni Association for underwriting the revival of the pageant, and for the positive experience of her year’s reign.

Retiring Alumni Board Directors were also honored: Kayne Pierce, MBA; Randy Brown, MBA; Gayle Flowers, Ed.D.; Frederick (Jeff) White, M.D.; and Scott Wolf, J.D.

The 2018-19 Board of Directors was formally elected by the membership. New directors joining the group July 1 are: Michael Gould, CPA; Patrick Harrington, J.D.; Victor Mainiero, M.Ed.; Marie Vazquez Morgan, PT, Ph.D.; and Tiffany Sandifer.

The 2018-19 Officers are President, Jaclyn Litton-Briery; Vice President, Keith Perkins, CPA; Treasurer, Jazmin Jernigan, MBA; and Secretary, Ken Betzing, PA-C.

Returning Directors for 2018-19 are: Gerald Badgley, M.Ed.; Jerome Danzell, M.D.; Christopher Fultz, DPT; The Honorable Frances Pitman; Rex Tamplin, CPA; and Barzanna White, Ph.D.

Distinguished Alumni Award

Michael L. Carter received the 2018 LSU Shreveport Distinguished Alumni Award. The award is given annually by the LSUS Alumni Association to alumni leaders who have made a significant contribution of their time or treasure to the university, and who are using their degrees in a significant manner. Upon receiving the award, Michael said, “I give back to LSUS because LSUS gave so much to me.”

Carter received a BS in 1992 in Accounting.

Circle of Excellence Awards for Leadership and Professionalism

Daniel S. Sklar, PMP, BS 1985 – Accounting and Computer Science (summa cum laude)

Sklar is Information Technology and Program Management Consultant for Acumanity International, LLC. He has been with them for 12 years.

Ginger Colvin Gustavson, M.Ed., BS 1993 – Secondary Education/Math; M.Ed. 2008

Gustavson is the Principal of Captain Shreve High School.

Sarah A. Kirkpatrick, J.D., BA 1993 – Liberal Arts/Social Sciences & Public Administration

Kirkpatrick is a Partner with Bradley Murchison Kelly & Shea, LLC.

Steven A. Conrad, M.D., Ph.D.,MBA 2001; MS Computer Systems Technology 2003

Conrad holds the Ike Muslow, MD Endowed Chair in Healthcare Informatics at LSU Health Shreveport.


More LSUS news and information can be found at

Media Contact: Wendell Riley, Director of Media and Public Relations 318-797-5108

Apply Visit Request Information